History of algerian currency

Algerian budju

The budju was the currency of Algeria until 1848. It was subdivided into 24 muzuna, each of 2 kharub or 29 asper. It was replaced by the franc when the country was occupied by France.bundju

In the early 19th century, copper coins were issued in denominations of 2 and 5 aspers, billon 1 kharub, silver 3, 4, 6, 8 and 12 muzuna, 1 and 2 budju, and gold ¼, ½ and 1 sultani.

Algerian franc

The franc replaced the budju when France occupied the country. It was equivalent to the French franc and was revalued in 1960 at a rate of 100 old francs = 1 new franc to maintain the equivalence. The new franc was replaced at par by the dinar in 1964 following Algerian independence granted by France in 1962.Algeria915Francs1942

The franc was the currency of Algeria between 1848 and 1964. It was subdivided into 100 centimes.


Algerian dinar

The dinar was introduced on 1 April 1964, replacing the Algerian new franc at par. It is the currency of Algeria and it is subdivided into 100 santeem.ALGERIA -138R - 200 DINARS 1992 copy

In 1964, coins in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 santeem, and 1 dinar were introduced, with the 1, 2 and 5 santeem struck in aluminium, the 10, 20 and 50 santeem in aluminium bronze and the 1 dinar in cupro-nickel. The obversesshowed the emblem of Algeria, while the reverses carried the values in Eastern Arabic numerals. In later decades, coins were issued sporadically with various commemorative subjects



Share Button

admin has written 30 articles